Bridging private network and "normal" network in Help

Im trying to set up a Kubernetes cluster using 3 different machines on the same location (newbie here).
I managed to get it working using a private network for inter-node communication as it is unmetered. The only problem I have is that the cluster doesn't have internet access and can't download any containers from internet registries.

I tried configuring a NAT rule with ufw and iptables but it didn't work. I used this guide https://help.ubuntu.com/lts/serverguide/firewall.html

Can I do this on Vultr?

I could just confugre a vpn to secure the cluster communication, but It's not clear to me if that traffic would count towards the limit per machine.

Comments

• edited November 2017
    I'm not too sure what you mean. Are you saying that you have 3 VPS connected together. Each has an external internet address, but you can't seem to get it to work?

Assuming this is so, you have a cluster of 3, and 3 internet IP addresses. Where do you want to assign them?

For what it's worth, it's doable. I don't run linux but have 2 VPS linked together via private network, and as the slave server doesn't need an internet IP, I've bridged it so that all connections to/from that its public IP are routed over the private lan to the main machine - effectively giving the main machine an extra IP address.

As for the second query, if you assign another vpn to 'front-end' your cluster, the traffic would be billed against this vpn, and no traffic would be billed against the cluster machines (assuming they are all connected to the front-end via private networking)

In this case, your allocated traffic for the 3 private clustered machines is wasted. There's no way to pool the allocations, allocating them all to the front-end.
  • Hi Jamie.