Happy to be here

Feel free to delete this if it's posted in the wrong place.

I have been managing a small LAMP stack for the past 12 years. Not because I enjoy it - but because I've needed various web services to support a small business (Apache, custom node.js server, MySQL, CouchDB, Redmine, Gitlab, subversion, PartKeepr, forums, you know the usual small business stuff).

I started out as a SliceHost customer, renting a shared virtual unmanaged shared un-dedicated server. The host worked great for our small application set, and their tutorials were incredibly helpful. They were purchased by RackSpace within months of when we signed up, and subsequently prices doubled and the quality of the shared environment became very poor. New management wanted to make money. More and more users were squeezed onto nodes. After complaining, Rackspace iinformed me that there were other users on the node that were hogging resources. They went through a "three strikes" warning process, but as soon as one bad actor was moved off the node, another one would show up. At the time, I didn't have a budget for dedicated resources. We finally decided that we were being lost in the acquisition shuffle and weren't important to Rackspace, so it was time to go.