Which FQDN should I add

edited June 2015 in Help
hello to all,

i am beginner here and my question as well. I'm running two wordpress sites in one Vultr VPS. And I searched for which FQDN I should set, since those wordpress have two different domain names. How can i set proper FQDN in one VPS with two different wordpress domain?

thanks in advance

Comments

• I think what you are looking for is virtual web hosts, this allows you to run multiple websites on a single server. You didn't mention which web server you are using, but if it is Apache they have documentation on how to work with virtual hosts here: https://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.4/vhosts/
  • edited June 2015
    justaperson thanks for reply. I am using NGINX server. I made the installation via Easy Engine. I created 2 WP site via custom command script.

The both domains are working and Wordpress is loading no problem there. But in , in hosts and hostname, there is no IP address or any www.domain.com values. In my /etc/hosts file

127.0.0.1 localhost vultr
    127.0.1.1 install.install install

That is all. There is no domain names or IP there.

should I put my IP address somewhere in this hosts file or should I put my domain names there. I am confused.

• @auludag No need to put anything in that file.

What is the actual problem you are trying to solve?
  • edited June 2015
    @auludag

FQDN is set to guest.vultr.com and, if you are using virtualdomains then leave it as it is. Use cat /etc/hostname to see the current hostname. Note that it may not be applied until after a reboot.

You can set it temporarily with hostname $somesubdomain.$somedomain.$sometld (replace those variables with a real value) e.g. hostname auluday.vultr.com but it will only hold until the next reboot. For a permanent change edit /etc/hostname, or, if you have systemd installed hostnamectl set-hostname $myhostname (replace the variable with a real value). That will put the value into /etc/hostname